Skip to main content
AU.EDITION
SpecValue
RTP95.99% (SlotCatalog; a single tier surfaced)
VolatilityHigh (σ ≈ 9-11 per A$1, estimated)
Max win1,000x total bet — a LOW cap for the feature count it advertises
Hit frequencyNot published; Free Spins borrows ~1-in-150-200 from adjacent Mascot titles, Hold and Win likely 1-in-250-400 on the same loose basis
The bloatFIVE mechanics divide one 95.99% envelope: Free Spins (10 spins, 3+ Scatters on reels 1/3/5, retrigger +10), Hold and Win (6+ Coins, 3 respins resetting per landing, Fixed Jackpot markers with UNPUBLISHED tier values), the Risk Wheel (a double-or-forfeit gamble that surrenders the original win on a loss segment), and a two-door Buy menu — each mechanic carries less than it would on a leaner slot, with roughly half the certified return locked behind 150-200-spin triggers
The buysMultipliers unpublished; the industry pattern for this combo runs 60-100x for Free Spins direct and 100-200x for Hold and Win direct; UKGC 2024 audit benchmarks put buy-path returns ~0.5-1.0 points above base — ~96.5-97% here
BetA$0.16-A$82.50 (approx.)

The winning line

Tessa Hunt crams one 95.99% envelope across five mechanics under a 1,000x cap. Honestly, the more features a pokie tries to run, the less weight each one can carry. Hit a loss segment on the Risk Wheel and your original win is gone, so leave it switched off for the whole session. The unpublished jackpot tiers stay outside the budget anyway. Probe with everything disabled, chase both triggers together, buy only below the price gates, then bank +150x.

Step 1 — Count the mouths at the table, then probe with everything off

Five mechanics sharing sub-96% beneath a 1,000x roof leave bugger all room for any single feature to pay big. That is the design’s arithmetic, not its mood. Run the probe with every optional lever dead. Risk Wheel off, Buy menu untouched.

Action: A$0.50 for 60 spins, every win straight to balance.

Watch for: Average hit size, with 0.1-0.5x from royals setting the texture. Then track Scatter pairs on reels 1/3/5, plus Coin clusters of 3+. Those are the two near-trigger families this hunt records separately.

Decision branches:

  • If the 60 spins net within ±A$8 → holding; Step 2 at A$0.50.
  • If −A$15 or worse with no near-trigger of either kind → A$0.30 and a 40-spin re-probe; exposure down, predictions nil.
  • If +A$10 or better → the cushion banks into the roll, never into the stake. It funds Step 2’s window.

Step 2 — Hunt two triggers on one clock

Chase both features at the same time. Scatters work towards Free Spins, the nearer door at ~1-in-150-200. Coins build towards Hold and Win, the farther one at ~1-in-250-400. Keep the near-trigger totals separate because they drive different calls later. Coin activity, of course, is the one that supports the Hold and Win buy route.

Action: Hold A$0.50 flat across a 200-spin window, keep an A$140 floor, and leave the Risk Wheel dead.

Watch for: Scatter pairs as the Free Spins near-trigger. Count 3+ Coin clusters as the Hold and Win near-trigger, then keep a running notebook total for each.

Decision branches:

  • If 3 Scatters land, Step 4’s Free Spins press fires immediately.
  • If 6+ Coins open Hold and Win, take Step 4’s other branch. The Scatter hunt stops for the round, of course.
  • If 200 spins pass dry under A$60, kill the session. Honestly, surviving past spin 400 on a sub A$60 stash is grim arithmetic.
  • If 200 pass dry at A$90+, push to spin 300 maximum, then get out. Nobody funds a 400 spin marathon on a machine that locks half its return behind gates, mind you.

Step 3 — Price two unpublished buy doors with hard gates

Mascot does not publish this title’s buy multipliers, so the gates follow the usual pattern: 60 to 100x for Free Spins, with 100 to 200x for Hold and Win. The on screen price is still the only figure that counts. The UKGC benchmark puts buy paths 0.5 to 1.0 points above base, ~96.5 to 97% here, but one rough buy can wipe out half an hour of disciplined grinding in a single swing.

Action: Only consider a buy at A$200+ bankroll after spin 300 dry. The Free Spins door is ≤80x (A$40). The Hold and Win door is ≤150x (A$75), and sure, that second route opens only after 6+ Coin near triggers were logged in Step 2.

Watch for: Welcome bonus restrictions. Most AU facing rooms block buys while wagering is active. A blocked buy that eats the click also eats the stake, of course.

Decision branches:

  • If the Free Spins door prices ≤80x, it is playable once per session.
  • If the Hold and Win door prices ≤150x AND the Coin log justifies it, well, it is playable once.
  • If either door exceeds its gate, do not buy. A premium price buys variance, not value.
  • If a wagering bonus is active, there is no buy at any price. Clear it first or play clean money.

Step 4 — Press whichever feature came; the Wheel stays dead

Both features reward holding position and punish needless fiddling. Free Spins gives 10 spins, and a 3 Scatter retrigger adds +10. Hold and Win starts with 3 respins, then resets them whenever a new Coin lands. Fixed Jackpot markers carry tier values the producer never published, mind you. Treat the marker as an outcome flag, not a promised number.

Action: Leave the stake untouched, keep the tab open and, honestly, refuse the Risk Wheel on every feature pay. A loss segment forfeits the original win. No feature payout gets better from a coin flip that can erase it.

Watch for: Retrigger Scatters during Free Spins, along with Coin density plus the remaining respin runway in Hold and Win. A round with 10+ locked and 2+ respins deserves its full natural length.

Decision branches:

  • If Free Spins closes at +150x or better, well, the exit goal is the next base spin. Done.
  • If Hold and Win lands a tier marker with runway left, the counter rides to its natural end. Interference improves nothing.
  • If Free Spins pays under +50x with no retrigger, sure, accept the disappointing round as it stands. Step 5.
  • If Hold and Win closes under +30x on a low tier outcome, honestly, the variance dice missed. No re buy chase. Step 5.

Step 5 — Exit on the ladder; the post-feature hour is the expensive one

After waiting 250 spins for a 35x round, the gut reaction is to win that wait back straight away. That is exactly what a five mechanic machine feeds on, because it always has one more feature for you to believe in, to be fair.

Action: Read the P&L the instant the feature finishes, measured against the +150x target and the starting roll.

Watch for: “The slot is hot now”, the documented feature stack trap from Schull 2012, plus the Risk Wheel’s siren call to “stretch” a payout that it can just as easily wipe out.

Decision branches:

  • If +150x or better: walked, closed. Honestly, the goal doesn’t renegotiate.
  • If +50-150x: A$0.50 for 80 more spins maximum. Wheel and buys stay dead, because the cushion can’t fund a second full hunt.
  • If −20x to +50x: out if the dry counter already passed 200. Otherwise, sure, 60 more spins, capped.
  • If below −20x: out. The recovering trigger paid like a Mini, and five feature paths all share one envelope, so the next event promises nothing soon.

The maths that backs the playbook

The bloat arithmetic runs the whole session. Five mechanics pull from 95.99% under a 1,000x cap, so each feature carries a thinner expectation than its counterpart on a leaner machine. The Free Spins cannot be Book-of-Dead generous, and the Hold and Win cannot be Dragon-Pearls deep because every mechanic is funded from that same sub-96 pool. Roughly half the certified return sits behind triggers estimated at 1-in-150-200 plus 1-in-250-400, borrowed from Mascot adjacents because the producer publishes nothing. Those estimates set both the hunt windows and the A$140 floor. The Risk Wheel is the clearest negative choice on the machine. It is a double or forfeit gamble where the loss segment deletes the original win, piling on variance at zero EV in a session already short of breathing room. Keep it off permanently. The buy doors do carry a real UKGC benchmark premium of ~96.5-97%, but it is tiny beside the per buy variance that can wreck a session in one swing. That is why the price gates exist, along with the Coin log requirement. Then the 1,000x cap settles it. There is no deep tail worth chasing, so +150x is, to be fair, the honest ceiling of this machine’s realistic range. The exit ladder stops five features taking turns talking you out of leaving.

What breaks the playbook

  1. Believing the feature count. Five mechanics on one sub-96 envelope means five thin slices. It does not mean five games’ worth of value.
  2. Spinning the Risk Wheel. A loss segment forfeits the original win. Well, that is variance bought at zero EV on a machine that already rations it.
  3. Budgeting the jackpot markers. The tier values are unpublished. A marker is a flag, and honestly, flags don’t cash at imagined numbers.
  4. Buying above the gates. Unpublished multipliers mean the screen price rules. Premium prices buy nothing but swing.
  5. Chasing the wait back after a thin round. Five feature paths mean there’s always a next one to believe in. Mind you, that’s the design, not the odds.

The cut-off

Wheel law: off from spin one, off after every win, off after every feature. The forfeit segment gets no vote.

Hunt gates: 200-spin window with an A$140 floor. 300 absolute. Anything below A$60 ends the session.

Sure, buy the Free Spins for ≤80x or grab the Hold and Win for ≤150x, if the Coin log gives it the tick. Honestly, you get one crack at each. It is clean money only.

Take the +150x walk. Well, anything from +50 to 150x earns 80 capped spins. Anything below −20x, to be fair, is simply what the envelope really pays.


Strategy by Dave Holloway , Floor Veteran. Last updated: 16 Jul 2026. 18+. Gamble responsibly. Gambling Help Online , 1800 858 858 | Lifeline 13 11 14.

Specs

SpecValue
ProviderMascot Gaming
Released2026-06-11
MechanicHold and Win + Free Spins + Risk Wheel + Buy Feature + 3 Fixed Jackpots
Grid5×3
Paylines10 fixed
RTP95.99% (per SlotCatalog data)
Max win1,000× total bet (per SlotCatalog data)
VolatilityHigh
Hit frequencyNot published
Bet rangeA$0.16 to A$82.50
Bonus buyYes (two paths: Free Spins or Hold and Win entry)
ThemeAncient Egypt / desert quest
CertificationONJN active; MGA pending

Symbols & Paytable

Mascot Gaming does not publish a numeric paytable for this title. Per-symbol multipliers are not public. The symbol set below comes from the producer page and SlotCatalog feature flags.

SymbolRole
Tessa HuntTop premium (protagonist)
Scarab amulet, ankh, eye of Horus, canopic jar, golden idolHigh-pay premiums (Egyptian artefact tier)
A, K, Q, J, 10Low-pay royals
WildSubstitutes on the base grid (excludes Scatter and Coin/Jackpot)
ScatterTriggers Free Spins on 3+ in view
Coin / Jackpot symbolCash values or one of three Fixed Jackpot tier markers during Hold and Win
Bonus / Buy symbolEntry token for the paid Buy Feature paths

Game rules

Base game

Classic 5-reel, 3-row frame with 10 fixed paylines, left to right from reel 1. After every winning spin, the punter gets three choices: bank it, send it to the Risk Wheel for a multiplier upgrade, or open the Buy Feature menu and buy straight into a bonus mode.

  • 10 fixed paylines, left-to-right pays from reel 1.
  • Wild substitutes on the base grid (excludes Scatter and Coin/Jackpot).
  • Scatter pays line-independent and triggers Free Spins on 3 or more in view.
  • Bet range A$0.16 to A$82.50 (operator-dependent floor and ceiling).

Free Spins

The main organic bonus is gated behind three or more Scatters anywhere in view. When it triggers, the punter lands in a 10-spin round, and retriggers are still on the table if the symbols show up again.

  • Triggered by 3 or more Scatter symbols landing in view; awards 10 free spins.
  • Retriggers add further spins when Scatters re-land during the feature.
  • Scatter trigger probability, retrigger limits, and any feature-side enhancement (sticky wilds, expanding symbols, multipliers) are not disclosed by the producer.

Hold and Win

This separate bonus round runs independently from Free Spins. Coin symbols stick where they land. The 3-respin counter resets every time a new Coin appears, so the feature can run long when the board keeps feeding fresh coins.

  • Bonus round triggered separately from Free Spins (likely 6+ Coin symbols on screen per Mascot Gaming’s house convention; not explicitly confirmed for this title).
  • 3 respins on the initial counter; each new Coin landing resets it back to 3.
  • Coin symbols carry a cash value or a Fixed Jackpot tier marker.
  • Round ends when respins exhaust or when all 15 grid positions fill with Coin symbols.
  • Tier names and multiplier values for the three Fixed Jackpot tiers are not publicly disclosed.

Risk Wheel

The main gamble feature activates after any winning base-game spin. The wheel is a variance converter: segments carry multipliers and at least one “lose” outcome that forfeits the original win. It does not raise certified RTP. It only changes the shape of the returns.

  • Player choice after every winning base-game spin: accept the win or send it to the wheel.
  • Wheel segments include multipliers and at least one “lose” outcome that forfeits the original win.
  • Segment composition, multiplier ceiling, and consecutive risk steps allowed are not disclosed publicly.
  • Most AU-facing offshore casinos cap consecutive Risk Wheel attempts at roughly 5 to 6 rounds per win.

Buy Feature

Two paid entry paths sit behind the Buy Feature menu: direct entry to the Free Spins round, or direct entry to the Hold and Win mode. Most AU-facing offshore casinos show both paths. Some regulated markets (Spain, Italy, parts of LatAm) hide or disable buy pricing under local rules.

  • Specific multiplier costs are not confirmed by the producer for this title.
  • Industry-typical pricing for this combo runs roughly 60× to 100× stake for Free Spins and 100× to 200× stake for Hold and Win direct entry.

Max-win cap

  • 1,000× total bet (per SlotCatalog data; producer page silent on the figure).
  • The cap sits on the conservative side for a high-volatility tag, where many contemporary high-vol pokies target 5,000× or higher.
  • Game behaviour at the cap is not explicitly documented; the usual slot pattern is round termination once the cap is reached during a feature.

Screenshots

Tessa Hunt and the Golden Sands base game grid showing the Egyptian desert layout with card royals and ankh premiums in view
Base game view, 5×3 grid with 10 fixed paylines and the Egyptian artefact symbol set.

Jackpot coin landing on the grid during Tessa Hunt and the Golden Sands, gold coin symbol marked with a jackpot tier indicator
A Coin symbol carrying a Fixed Jackpot tier marker; tier-marked coins drive the top end of Hold and Win outcomes.

Hold and Win bonus round during Tessa Hunt and the Golden Sands with a cluster of Coin symbols stuck in position
Hold and Win in progress with multiple Coin symbols holding position and the 3-respin counter reset by recent landings.

Provider context

Mascot Gaming is an HTML5 studio. It was founded in September 2015 and is based in Rasnov, Romania. It is licensed by the Malta Gaming Authority (RN/319/2024) and the Romanian ONJN, with Global Lab certificates across Portugal, Spain, Italy, Argentina, Colombia, Peru, Georgia and Latvia.

  • The catalogue is over 130 titles now, spread across 500+ operator brands, with roughly three new games per month.
  • Mascot sits in mid-tier branded-IP territory: adventure protagonists (the Tessa Hunt series), animal mascots, and Egyptian franchises like Anksunamun.
  • Distribution runs through direct integrations and through the Relax Gaming and Pariplay aggregators, which is how the catalogue turns up at AU-facing offshore casinos.
  • MGA cert for this title is pending; ONJN cert is active, so the game is live at AU-facing offshore Curacao operators.

Game series

Fifth entry in the Tessa Hunt branded-protagonist series and the heaviest mechanic stack of the lot. Earlier titles ran lighter frames.

TitleReleasedKey differences
Tessa Hunt and the Eye of Horus2025-04Book-of mechanic, 94.65% RTP, 2,250× cap
Tessa Hunt and the Warrior Tomb2025-10Risk and Buy combo, 5×15 lines, x2/x5/x10 free-spin multipliers
Tessa Hunt and the Mission Monte Carlo2025-XXHeist theme, multiplier symbols, no Egyptian setting
Tessa Hunt and the Golden Sands2026-06-11Heaviest stack: Hold and Win + Free Spins + Risk Wheel + Buy Feature + 3 Jackpots

Mechanic breakdown

Five mechanics share the 95.99% RTP envelope, a crowded setup for this bracket. Each feature carries less weight than it would on a leaner pokie.

  • Base game: estimated 30 to 40% of total RTP; the base reel acts as bonus delivery on a stack this dense.
  • Free Spins: around 30 to 35%, lifted by retrigger room on the 10-spin allocation.
  • Hold and Win: roughly 20 to 25%, with the three Fixed Jackpot tiers loaded into the long tail.
  • Risk Wheel: approximately 0% net contribution; a fair-coin variance converter, not a value generator.
  • Buy Feature: industry pattern is 0.5 to 1.0% above base RTP; specific Buy Feature RTP for this title is not disclosed.
  • Punter read: roughly half of the RTP is locked behind feature triggers. Play the base game only and it feels closer to a 35 to 40% RTP-equivalent until Free Spins or Hold and Win trigger.

Volatility distribution

The high-volatility tag is genuine but sits on the lower end of the bracket given the 1,000× cap. Estimated σ (standard deviation) lands around 9 to 11 per A$1 stake based on industry benchmarks; not a producer-confirmed figure (UKGC 2024 audit puts “very high volatility” σ at 8 to 20 per unit stake).

  • σ around 9 to 11 per A$1; below Gates of Olympus (σ around 17) because the cap is far lower; above medium-vol Sweet Bonanza-style pokies (σ around 6).
  • Bankroll read: with σ around 10 per A$1, you’re looking at roughly 200 to 400 spins of survival at minimum-bet pacing before a deep drawdown starts looking likely.
  • Community variance data is not out yet for this title. The closest read comes from Warrior Tomb threads, where players describe a 1-in-150 to 1-in-200 free-spin trigger rate and bonus payouts mostly sitting around 30× to 60× stake.

RTP versions

Mascot Gaming hasn’t usually rolled out multi-tier RTP variants like Pragmatic Play and Play’n GO. At research date, only the 95.99% tier is publicly documented.

TierStatusSource
95.99%Default and only tier surfacedSlotCatalog data tile

Operator-side variants cannot be ruled out: individual offshore casinos sometimes deploy reduced-RTP firmware. Verification at the casino level requires reading the in-game “i” info panel after launch.

Demo notes

  • Demo is embeddable via demo.mascot.games/run/th_and_the_golden_sands (the host used in the Demo tab on this page).
  • The entrypoint resolves via a 307 redirect to a per-session subdomain that changes between visits.
  • Demo balance is served as a placeholder currency (NAN), so on-screen figures during demo play are generic credits rather than AUD.

Competing slots

Closest comparisons in the AU-facing offshore catalogue for this feature stack and theme.

TitleProviderVol.Max winBonus buyKey difference
Sun of Egypt 33 Oaks GamingHigh5,000×Yes (~60×)Higher ceiling, simpler stack, broader AU offshore footprint
15 Dragon Pearls3 Oaks GamingHigh5,000×YesHigher cap, Asian theme, established community variance data
Coin Strike: Hold and WinPlaysonMed-High5,150×NoLower variance, no Risk Wheel, organic-trigger only
Anksunamun: The Queen of EgyptMascot GamingMed~2,000×YesSame provider, lower variance
Tessa Hunt and the Eye of HorusMascot GamingHigh2,250×YesSame series, simpler Book-of frame, lower RTP (94.65%)

AU availability

Mascot Gaming holds no Australian IGA 2001 licence; no such licence exists for offshore casino software providers, the same status as essentially every studio on this site.

  • Australian players access offshore casinos legally as consumers; operators offering services into Australia do so outside Australian regulation.
  • AU-facing offshore casinos (Curacao-licensed, AUD-native or AUD-supporting) carry the game at typical lobby positions; SlotCatalog confirms availability across at least three named AU-facing operators.
  • Top markets per SlotCatalog’s 37-country distribution are Canada, New Zealand, and Austria; Australia is not in the top three but availability is confirmed.
  • MGA cert pending; ONJN cert active. Markets without local cert (Spain, Italy, Portugal, Colombia, Argentina, Peru, Georgia) cannot launch the title until granted.

FAQ

Q: What is the RTP of Tessa Hunt and the Golden Sands?
A: 95.99% per SlotCatalog data. Mascot Gaming’s producer page does not publish a numeric RTP, and no alternative tier has surfaced at AU-facing offshore casinos.

Q: What is the max win on this pokie?
A: Straight up, 1,000× total bet per SlotCatalog data. That is conservative for a high-vol tag, where most 2026 high-vol releases target 5,000× or more.

Q: How does the Risk Wheel work?
A: Short answer: it is variance conversion, not value creation. Each spin offers a multiplier upgrade or forfeits the original win; RTP stays at 95.99% whether a punter uses it or skips it.

Q: Does the Buy Feature give better RTP than organic play?
A: Usually, marginally yes. Industry pattern is 0.5 to 1.0% above base RTP for this combo; specific Buy Feature RTP for this title is not disclosed.

Q: Are the three jackpot tier values published?
A: Not really. Mascot Gaming confirms three Fixed Jackpot tiers exist but does not name them or publish multiplier values.

Q: Is the demo geo-blocked in Australia?
A: No. The demo.mascot.games entrypoint serves the game cross-origin without geo-checks. Demo balance shows as generic credits rather than AUD.


Last updated: 16 Jun 2026
Reviewed by Mark Henderson, Senior Slots Analyst

Demo embed · played in fun-money mode. No real-money play here.